Recipe Review: Baked Chicken Fajitas

Tonight I tried this chicken recipe I found on the always amazing Pinterest. It took about 20 minutes in prep time, which included slicing the onion (and “crying”), pepper, and chicken. The spice mix came together easily, and I actually had all the spices thanks to my BBQ, so the cost of this one was really low for us: only about $4 for the chicken, 3.5 pounds of pre-pounded, boneless, skinless perfection which can be used later in the week for the paninis I mentioned. It was all done in exactly 25 minutes at 400*, which may be a little much for some ovens…ours cooks very hot and some the fringes of my onions got a little, shall we say, crispy. It fed 5 of us, including the guys going back for seconds. We teamed it up with some Mexican rice and refried beans, along with chips and salsa and had a tasty meal for around $10 without spices.

I liked how easy it was, and how nice it was to be baked rather than stir fried or anything, but I did find the chicken to be a little bland. I think next time I would throw in some cayenne pepper or a dash of the Emeril’s Essence from the pulled pork recipe for a little kick. The unintentional star of the show, for me at least, was the Tostito’s “Artisan” chips. We had the ‘smokey chipotle’ flavor and they rock the house. Just spicy enough for a kick without overpowering your taste buds; they go well with some salsa or just by themselves!

Rating: 4.5/5

Changes for next time: add some spice!